Strawberry Summer Cupcakes

Last week, I spent a gloriously relaxing week at home. This included reading, beaching, ice cream-ing and baking. I love baking, especially cupcakes despite their time consuming efforts. I went with strawberry cupcakes with strawberry filing and cream cheese frosting. 

I’m a big fan of doctoring up box mix. For this one I used:

  • Box strawberry cake mix
  • 1 C sour cream
  • 1 pkg vanilla instant pudding
  • 1 tsp vanilla 
  • 1/2 C milk
  • 1/2 C veg oil
  • 4 eggs

This helped make the cake moist and flavorful. It also made the batter pretty thick so just be aware of that. 

While these were baking, I started on the filling. I simmered down fresh strawberries with sugar and some water. I’d probably forego the water next time because it took a while to get this thick enough. Let it cool completely and fill the cupcake centers. I didn’t have any of my supplies so I just spooned this into the centers of the cupcakes. Lastly top with cream cheese frosting! 

Unfortunately I didn’t have my cake decorating stuff, good camera, or staging things so this isn’t the most aesthetically pleasing documentation of a baking process but it’s something. But these cupcakes did turn out delicious and are great for a hot summers day!! 

Share your favorite baking tips and tricks in the comments! 

One thought on “Strawberry Summer Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

