Building a Book Collection

Ever since I was little, I loved to read. It started with Harry Potter in 5th grade, and since then, I’ve always been a sucker for a good book, especially in the summer. This summer, I have the small goal of beginning my personal library. I’ve been frequenting half price books, and picking up familiar titles, and authors, books that sound interesting, and of course those classic books we all had to read in AP Lit. What I am really looking for is a repertoire of really good books where I can pull it off my shelf on a rainy day and know it will be  a good read. My question to all of you readers out there is how do you build your library? It is so easy to pick up every book in the store because it is only $2, but at the same time, I don’t want a cluttered book shelf. I want a carefully curated collection of good books.

So far, I have my natural mixture of James Patterson, Jodi Picoult, and of course Nicholas Sparks. I am slowly adding in classic books such as To Kill A Mocking Bird, and Catcher in the Rye. And of course, we can’t forget the sanctuary I have dedicated to my Harry Potter books and memorabilia. Let me know how you would curate your perfect library.

Below are some photos of what I’d eventually like to have. Hopefully this could turn into a DIY!

Comfy, cozy book nook; Possible closet makeover:              Ah-ha! I will try something like this! A place to sit & read, but not a place I can easily fall asleep, and definitely not a place where people will steal my office for a guest room :) EDIT: This is now my most popular pin!: Reading Nook, great idea for that small place in the attic:

3 thoughts on “Building a Book Collection

  1. I’d probably compile a very organised list of each book I wanted and then shop around for them, in charity shops or second-hand ones online, and then find shelves that could house them. I like organising! Loved the first picture of a reading “nook” too! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

